Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Winners Announced for Storylines Trust Awards

The 2024 Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day was held on Sunday 7 April 2024. The afternoon included the presentation of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal to Elizabeth Jones.

The event  also celebrated the announcement of the winners of the 2024 Storylines manuscript and illustration awards. Congratulations to all the winners:

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award: The Dragon Hunters written by James Russell, illustrated by Link Choi

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award: Jonathan Poff, Ashburton for manuscript titled Pan-Pan!

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award: Kaye Julian, Wellington

Storylines Joy Cowley Award: Annelies Judson, Tāmaki Makaurau for manuscript titled Turkey Hurly-Burly

Storylines Tessa Duder Award: Kiri Lightfoot, Auckland for manuscript titled Bear

No Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a Junior Fiction Manuscript or Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Heikōkō Mataira Award for a manuscript in te reo Māori was presented. 

The recipients of the Unpublished Writers Awards were:

Storylines Joy Cowley Award: Anne Slight, Whangamatā

Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award: Kara Laurenson, Tauranga

Storylines Tessa Duder Award: Hannah Marshall, Wellington

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates