login login

Welcome to Storylines

Storylines Children's Literature Charitable Trust  promotes public awareness of the importance of reading and books for all children and young adults; ensures children and young adults in New Zealand have access to high quality literature; and supports the writers and illustrators of literature for children and young adults in New Zealand. more >

Storylines also operates as the New Zealand Section of IBBY (the International Board on Books for Young People), with responsibility in August 2016 for hosting IBBY's 35th International Congress to be held in Auckland.

Coming Up


Book List

Storylines' recommendations for great New Zealand books to give children
and young adults this Christmas.

​Read More
IBBY girl-762-372

IBBY International Congress
August 2016

Early bird registration, with special rates for Storylines members, is now open.
(Closes 31 March 2016). ​READ MORE

Jenny Cooper bio pick 2013-967-657

Illustrator honoured



2015 Storylines Margaret Mahy Award winner

Congratulations to Jill Eggleton, QSO, winner of the 2015 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture award for lifetime achievement and a distinguished contribution to literature and reading. Internationally recognised as a literacy consultant, teacher and author, Jill was presented with the award by Storylines chair Dr Libby Limbrick at a ceremony in Auckland. You can read her address here.

Jill Eggleton 2-397-248

Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award presented

The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award for outstanding service to children's literature was presented to University of Otago academic Trish Brooking at a November ceremony in Dunedin.  Presenting the award, Storylines Trust chair Dr Libby Limbrick said that Trish's academic writings and her work on behalf of Otago University's children's writers residency had made invaluable contributions. Dr Limbrick paid tribute to both Trish and the university for maintaining the fellowship (the only one in a New Zealand tertiary institution for children's authors), enabling some 28 authors over 20 years to live and work in Dunedin. You can read the Otago Bulletin Board announcement of her award here here, and the text of her Award address here.
Trish Brooking recieves Award IMG 2523-748-235

Jenny Cooper honoured

Christchurch artist Jenny Cooper is the 2015 winner of the $10,000 Mallinson Rendel Illustrators’ Award given by the Arts Foundation of New Zealand.  She has illustrated more than 40 picture books, regularly appearing on the Storylines Notable Books lists since 2000.  She is particularly known for her fine illustrations of Pacific Island children and settings. A full-time illustrator and teacher, she visits many primary schools and takes workshops on illustrating, also tutors occasionally at Continuing Education at Canterbury University and at Christchurch Polytechnic. Her awards include the 1998 New Zealand Post Student Stamp Design award and Telecom New Zealand White Pages Art Award.
The biennial Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award was added to the Arts Foundation Laureates prizes in 2011. Following the sale of Mallinson Rendel Independent Book Publishing Company, publisher Ann Mallinson wanted to acknowledge New Zealand’s leading picture book illustrators. The first two winners were Dunedin’s David Elliot in 2011 and Gavin Bishop in 2013.

Jenny Cooper-738

Profile of the month: 
Tribute to Dorothy Butler OBE

Storylines and the world of children's books lost a good friend with the death of Dorothy Butler in September 2015. She was aged 90. Eulogies at the large funeral were given by Tessa Duder on behalf of the literary community and Sir Robert (Bob) Harvey representing the Karekare community.

Dorothy's contribution and influence as a bookseller, author, commentator and reviewer are incalculable. She was a founding member of the Children's Literature Association in the 1970s, an active supporter of Storylines for more than three decades and her tireless work for children's literature won her major awards in New Zealand, UK and USA.

Dorothy Butler reading credit Katrina Rees-747-9

Storylines Notable Book Awards 2016

Entries close 30 November 2015

Submissions for the Storylines Notable Books 2016 (for books published between 1 January and 31 December 2015) are now invited.
Full details of conditions and entry formE-book entries and information a
bout the Award.

Other News
Hot off the (virtual) press

The latest e-newsletter What's the Story? and Storylines' year book The Inside Story (useful summary of 2015 events, awards, plus the Storylines Margaret Mahy and Betty Gilderdale Lectures) are now available.  

The 22nd Annual Storylines Festival is coming

In August 2016 the Storylines Festival of New Zealand Children's Writers and Illustrators is going to be extra big - the Auckland Free Family Day is being held simultaneously with the IBBY World Congress. Bookmark the Festival page and stay updated with what's planned in your regionRead more>

2016 Story Tour applications open soon

Memo to teachers: three Story Tours are being planned for Northland, greater Auckland and South Auckland in August 2016 as part of the Storylines Festival. These popular 3-4 day tours by leading writers and illustrators are offered to schools at no cost. Read more  about the Story Tours and how to apply.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for the Storylines newsletter


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...