Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Awards


Storylines, in line with its  advocacy for the development of New Zealand children’s literature, offers 11 awards to writers, illustrators, publishers and those working in the field of children’s literature and literacy.

These include:

These awards are nationally and internationally recognised, acknowledging achievement and service and providing opportunities for established, emerging and new talent.

Several Storylines awards are presented at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day, usually in early April each year. The recipient of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal is announced in advance, and presents a lecture on a topic of their choice.

The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award recipient delivers the Storylines Spring Lecture at an award presentation usually held in November.

All Storylines awards are chosen by appointed panels of acknowledged experts in children’s literature, among them authors, illustrators, teachers, children’s librarians, academics and whanau.

Storylines Award Deadlines

Deadlines, entry forms and guidelines for Storylines’ achievement and manuscript awards are detailed on the pages for each award:

2020 Storylines Award presentations

All our virtual award presentations made online in 2020 are available for you to watch or re-watch on our YouTube or Vimeo channels. Use the links below to see:

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates