Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Tessa Duder Award

Award Background

The Storylines Tessa Duder Award was established in 2010 in association with HarperCollins Publishers. It was subsequently sponsored by Walker Books Australia. The award recognises Tessa Duder's outstanding contribution to children's literature, both in her publishing output and her tireless work to promote children's books and publishing.

The award is open to all New Zealand writers and is made biennially, when merited, to the New Zealand author of an unpublished work of fiction for young adults aged 13 and above. The award carries assurance of publication by the sponsoring publisher and a cash prize.

The award is open to any New Zealand writer, published or unpublished, who meets the eligibility criteria on the Entry Form. (If in doubt, please seek a ruling from the Storylines Awards Administrator.)

It is judged by a panel of three appointed by Storylines, alongside Tessa Duder, and a representative of the sponsoring publisher.

In line with international best practice, the award is judged ‘blind’ – that is, the identities of the authors are unknown to the judging panel. Authors must therefore ensure that their name does not appear on any page of the submission; any manuscript with the name visible will be deemed ineligible.

The entry forms, which do not go to the judging panels, should be completed with the author’s correct details. Nom de plumes are not acceptable.

Manuscripts of up to 75,000 words, with accompanying entry form and fee payment, must be postmarked no later than 31 October in each year when entries are called for, and sent to the address given on the entry form. The name of the author must not appear on any page, and a brief synopsis (i.e. a straightforward plot summary, not a blurb) must be included.

The award winner is announced at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day the following April, and the published book launched the following year.

Entries for the next award close: 31 October 2023
Award Entry Fee: $40 (non-member)
/ $20 (member)

Recipients of the Storylines Tessa Duder Award:

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates