Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award

Award Background

The Storylines Gavin Bishop Award was established in 2009. The award aims to encourage the publication of new and exciting high-quality picture books from new New Zealand illustrators. It also recognises the contribution celebrated children’s author and illustrator Gavin Bishop has made to the writing and illustrating of children’s picture books and gives an emerging talent the opportunity to benefit from his expertise.

The award is open only to previously unpublished illustrators. It not open to any illustrator who has had a picture book, either fiction or non-fiction for either children, young adults or adults published either by self-publishing or a publishing house in digital or print format (i.e. one sold through online or physical bookstores), or is in the process of publication. (If in doubt, illustrators should seek a ruling from Storylines.) Eligibility criteria are stated on the Entry Form.

Storylines administers the award, and Penguin Random House New Zealand is the sponsor. Selection is made by a panel which includes Gavin Bishop, a representative from Penguin Random House and judges selected by Storylines. The winner receives a $1,500 monetary prize, mentoring and support from Gavin Bishop, and an offer of publication by Penguin Random House New Zealand.

In line with international best practice, the award is judged ‘blind’ – that is, the identities of the illustrators are unknown to the judging panel. Illustrators must therefore ensure that their name does not appear on any part of the illustration submission; any submission with the name visible will be deemed ineligible.

The entry forms, which do not go to the judging panels, should be completed with the author’s correct details. Nom de plumes are not acceptable.

The award is made biennially, when merited, with the presentation of the award at the Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day in April. Each entrant is required to submit a storyboard, a page of rough drawings and two pieces of finished art to fit with text provided by Penguin Random House. See Guidelines for details. The text, final spreads and storyboard for the 2024 award are now available.


Entries for the next award close: 30 November 2023
Award Entry Fee: $40.00 (non-member)
/ $20.00 (member)

Recipients of the Storylines Gavin Bishop Award:

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates