Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

New awards for unpublished writers

Storylines is delighted to announce the addition of new awards for unpublished writers in the Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award, and the Storylines Joy Cowley Award, alongside the current $500 award for an unpublished writer in the Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award.  Should a published writer win the award The Friends of Storylines Nga Pou o te Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa is offering a $500 prize (where merited) to a shortlisted unpublished writer in each of these categories. If the winner of any of these awards is unpublished, the $500 Storylines prize will go to an unpublished writer on the shortlist.

The deadline for all Storylines 2023 manuscript awards is 31 October 2022, so it’s time to get writing. Read more on the Awards web page.

Pictured: Nissa Bearsley won the $500 Storylines Award for an unpublished writer in the 2022 Storylines Tom Firtzgibbon Award.


Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates