Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Shortlist Announced for Storylines Trust Awards

The presentation of Storylines Trust achievement awards and annual awards for original manuscripts in the genres of junior fiction, young adult, illustration, books in te reo Māori and picture books will be presented this year at the Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day on 7 April 2024.

The Trust welcomed Allen & Unwin as the new sponsor for the Storylines Tessa Duder Award for a young adult manuscript and note a significant increase in entries this year. Jenny Hellen, Publishing Director, Allen & Unwin New Zealand comments:

‘We were absolutely delighted by the quality of the entries in the Storylines Tessa Duder YA Prize. It’s heartening to see that many so talented writers are working in this field. The shortlisted entries are all brilliant stand-outs, and we are very much looking forward to working with the winning author.’

The shortlist is;

Philippa Werry, Wellington

Hannah Marshall, Wellington

Kiri Lightfoot, Auckland

Kate Twomey, Wellington

Storylines Tessa Duder Award in association with Allen & Unwin New Zealand for an original young adult novel manuscript.

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award

Director Becky Innes says ‘Penguin Random House New Zealand is delighted to sponsor the seventh Storylines Gavin Bishop Award, and for us one of the most exciting moments in the award cycle is the announcement of the shortlist. Here are three fabulously talented new illustrators and each of them has interpreted Kyle Mewburn’s sparky, zesty Go Scooter Go in their own highly characterful and imaginative way. Gavin and the judging panel loved the sheer range of their ideas!”

The shortlist is;

Karen Phelps, Christchurch

Kaye Julian, Wellington

Ronnie Baker, Nelson

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award for a previously unpublished picture book illustrator, in association with Penguin Random House New Zealand.

The Storylines Joy Cowley Award, The Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award and the Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award will be announced in the coming weeks. There is no shortlist for the Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award.

The winner of each award will be announced at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day, Sunday 7 April, Auckland. Register now to attend.

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates