Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

2024 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal Winner Announced

National Library’s Elizabeth Jones wins Storylines’ top Award

National Library’s Director, Elizabeth Jones, has been named the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner 2024. The award is presented annually to a person for their lifetime achievement and significant contribution to the broad field of children’s and young adult literature and literacy. 

As Director of Literacy and Learning at National Library, Elizabeth is responsible for strengthening collaboration to achieve improved literacy and learning outcomes for New Zealand through partnerships with government agencies, and the education, library, literacy and community sectors. She oversees the operational leadership of the Services to Schools team and the delivery of nationwide services to support reading engagement, digital literacy and school library development.

Christine Young, chair of Storylines Trust, says Storylines is delighted to be awarding Elizabeth the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal this year. 

“For more than 35 years she has been one of New Zealand’s most passionate, articulate, knowledgeable, and effective advocates of children and young people’s reading for pleasure and the academic and personal benefits it brings.

“Without her vision and determination, the Te Awhi Rito New Zealand Reading Ambassador for Children and Young People, which involves partners from across the sector, would not have succeeded. I am in awe of her commitment, dedication and enthusiasm, and the way she is able to communicate with and engage others in her passionate pursuit of ensuring all tamariki and rangatahi have the opportunity and ability to enjoy reading.”

She has also strengthened collaboration with Ministry of Education to enable more connected work on the Literacy Strategy and priorities including support for reading for pleasure within the curriculum. 

Externally-focused collaborative roles Elizabeth currently holds include:  

Chair of Te Awhi Rito Partners Group, member of the Literacy and Reading Standing Committee of IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations) and member of the AUT GUiNZ (Growing Up In New Zealand) research project advisory group.

The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award will be presented at Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day on 7 April 2024 in Auckland. 

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates