login login

Storylines Awards

Ten New Zealand writers have been shortlisted from nearly 200 submissions for the annual Storylines awards for unpublished manuscripts: the Joy Cowley Award for a picture book text and the Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a children’s novel. Winners will be announced at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal Presentation and Awards Day on 2 April. Please read the individual awards pages (links below) for details of the winners and commended titles.

Storylines, in line with its general advocacy for the development of New Zealand children’s literature, offers eight awards to writers, illustrators, publishers and those working in the field of children’s literature and literacy.
These include:

These awards are nationally and internationally recognised, acknowledging achievement and service and providing opportunities for new and emerging talent.
Most awards are presented at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Day in March/April each year, at which the winner of the Margaret Mahy Medal presents a lecture on a topic of their choice. The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award recipient delivers the Storylines Spring Lecture at an award presentation usually held in November.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...