Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award

Award Background

The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal is New Zealand’s most prestigious honour for children’s and young adult authors, illustrators and publishers. Among the recipients since its inception in 1991 are Joy Cowley, Lynley Dodd, Jack Lasenby, Maurice Gee, Gavin Bishop, David Hill, Kate De Goldi, Des Hunt, Andrew Crowe, Maria Gill and Kids Lit Quiz originator Wayne Mills.

The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal was first presented in 1991 to Margaret Mahy in recognition of her contribution to the world of literature for children and young adults. Surprising Moments, her inaugural lecture, set the standard for those given by subsequent award-winners. These published lectures by the champions of the New Zealand children’s literature community have enriched New Zealand’s literary heritage with their insight into the experiences, ideas, issues and concerns involved in writing and/or illustrating for children, improving literacy, and ensuring access to quality literature.

The award carries a monetary prize of $2000 and is presented annually to a person for their lifetime achievement and significant contribution to the broad field of children’s and young adult literature and literacy. This includes writing, illustration, publishing and academic fields. Written nominations are sought from the public and selection from those nominated is made by a panel appointed by Storylines. The lecture is published on the Storylines website immediately after the award presentation.

Nominations for this award close: 30 November each year

Recipients of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award:

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates