Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award

Award Background

The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award honours  the late Betty Gilderdale, a lifelong advocate and supporter of children’s literature, through her academic research, work as a reviewer and 30 years' committee service to Auckland’s Children’s Literature Association. Prior to 2000, the award was known as the Children’s Literature Association’s Award for Services to Children’s Literature. Read more about Betty's work for children's literature in a tribute given by Storylines Trustee Rosemary Tisdall at a memorial service for Betty after her death in July 2021.

The award is given annually for outstanding service to children’s literature and literacy and carries a monetary prize of $2000. The recipient delivers a 40-minute address, known as the Storylines Spring Lecture, as part of the award presentation, usually in November.

Nominations can be for distinguished service either at a regional or national level. Nominations are sought from the public and selection from those nominated is made by a panel selected by Storylines.

Nominations for this award close: 31 August each year

Recipients of the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award:

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates