Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki O Aotearoa

Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa promotes awareness of the importance of reading and books for all children and young adults; ensures children and young adults in New Zealand have access to high quality literature; and supports the writers and illustrators of literature for children and young adults in New Zealand.

Formally stated, Storylines purposes, as defined in the Trust deed, are:

  • supporting the development of New Zealand children’s literature;
  • promoting public awareness of the value of books and reading for children and teenagers.

There is broad scope under the Trust Deed by which Trustees and the volunteers who support Storylines can achieve these primary aims.

Storylines also operates as the New Zealand Section of IBBY (the International Board on Books for Young People), working with a consortium and supportive publishers, who assist with the cost of IBBY membership.

New Zealand Icon, author and Member of the Order of New Zealand Joy Cowley and educational publisher Dame Wendy Pye are patrons and active supporters of Storylines. Eight Trustees with governance responsibilities oversee activities which include an annual national series of Story Tours, publications, awards and events.

The Trust employs a part-time Executive Officer and an Events Manager/Administrator who work closely with a volunteer Management Committee of about 12 members.

Funding for Trust activities comes from Creative New Zealand, Foundation North, other major community trusts, corporates, local bodies, publishers and other sources. Income is also raised from Friends of Storylines membership fees and fund-raising events.

Storylines Trust’s membership arm is the Friends of Storylines Nga Pou o te Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa, open to parents, families, librarians, teachers, authors and illustrators, booksellers, publishers and others working or interested in children’s and young people’s literature and literacy. Trust and Friends members work in a voluntary capacity on the various specialist committees that undertake Storylines’ work.

Storylines is best known for its annual national Storylines National Festival Story Tour and the annual Storylines awards offered to published and emerging writers and illustrators of children’s books. There are also three awards honouring achievement in the field of children’s literature.

Storylines’ publications are now principally online, including a monthly e-newsletter and the annual Margaret Mahy Lecture and the Betty Gilderdale Spring Lecture, the Trust’s annual report and summaries of Storylines awards. Links are also provided to other literary organisations and international awards.

Storylines also seeks and maintains partnerships with publishers, booksellers, the New Zealand Book Council Te Pou Muramura, the New Zealand Society of Authors, the New Zealand Book Awards Trust, Booksellers New Zealand, the Publishers Association of New Zealand, National Library of New Zealand, the Coalition for Books, regional and community libraries, schools and other organisations with interests in literature and literacy education for children.

Affiliated children’s literature associations and/or individuals are active in Northland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty (Bookrapt: The Bay of Plenty Children’s Literature Association), Hawke’s Bay, New Plymouth, Wellington (the Wellington Children’s Book Association), and Christchurch (Painted Stories, formerly known as Te Tai Tamariki).

Since 2001, Storylines has operated as New Zealand’s national section of IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People), providing a voice and presence for New Zealand children’s books and authors in the world’s major forum for children’s literature. After ten years’ active membership, IBBY New Zealand was chosen to host the 35th biennial International Congress of IBBY, to be held in Auckland in August 2016.

For more information or to contact the Trust, email GIllian Wess, Executive Officer.

Current Trust members are:
  • Weng Wai Bing
  • Tessa Duder
  • Dr Darryn Joseph
  • Carolyn Lagahetau
  • Dr Libby Limbrick
  • Tony Sissons 
  • Will Smith
  • Rosemary Tisdall
  • Christine Young (Chair)

Please find their profiles here.

Current staff members are:
  • Anne De Lautour (Executive Officer)
  • Vicki Cunningham (Events Manager/ Awards administrator)

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates