Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

2022 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner

Writer Diana Noonan is the 2022 winner of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal for lifetime achievement and an outstanding contribution to New Zealand’s literature for young people. She has published more than 100 titles, and won numerous awards for her work. Following the 2011 Christchurch earthquake she wrote the picture book Quaky Cat, illustrated by Gavin Bishop, which raised over $150,000 for the Christchurch earthquake appeal.

The award will be presented to Diana  at Storylines’ annual Margaret Mahy National Awards Day in Auckland on 3 April 2022.  Read the full news release.

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates