Signup for our newsletter

What's the story? is Storylines' newsletter. It includes news and information about children's literature around New Zealand as well as internationally.
First Name*
Last Name*

Notable Books Awards

Call for entries: 
Since 2000 Storylines has produced a list of outstanding books for children and young people published in New Zealand by New Zealand authors and illustrators during the previous calendar year. The decision to compile this annual list of Notable Books was based on a desire to ensure that children, parents/grandparents, teachers, librarians and the public were made aware of the large range of high quality books being published.

Books are categorised as: Picture Book, Junior Fiction, Young Adult and Non Fiction. There are up to ten awards in each category. 

Storylines Notable Books are selected by an expert panel from the Storylines community as books that are worthy of being recognised as ‘Notable’ in each year. The panel includes librarians, authors, illustrators, teachers and academics; several members have served as judges for the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Award (and under its previous sponsor AIM) and the LIANZA Book Awards. 

Support for Storylines Notable Books: 
"I'm delighted to have such an acknowledgement. It's been very interesting to see, over the years, how being on the Notable Books list has become such a coveted honour. Thank you, not just for my own presence on the list this year, but for the hard work Storylines does on behalf of writing for children." Barbara Else. 

"I want to say Many Thanks to you for those honours – and for all the other terrific services you provide to New Zealand kids’ books. Storylines is a gem in the New Zealand crest. Feel proud of all you do! I feel privileged to belong to you." David Hill. 

Links and documents: 
Conditions of Entry
  1. Entries are open to books on first publication in print or as e-books in New Zealand. The 2016 Awards are open to books published between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2015. 
  2. Principal authors (and principal illustrators of books with significant illustrated content: picture books and photographic non-fiction) must be normally resident in New Zealand and be New Zealand Citizens by birth, naturalisation, or immigration, or have held a Permanent Residence Permit in New Zealand for a period of at least FIVE years at the closing date for submissions. New Zealand Citizens or Permanent residents as defined here but who are living overseas temporarily are eligible if their absence is for less than ONE year at the closing date for submissions.
  3. Reprints and re-issues of previously published works are not eligible. 
  4. Entries of fiction and non-fiction must contain 48 pages or more; picture books must contain at least 24 pages. 
  5. Books by individual or multiple authors, including anthologies, are eligible if they meet the criteria for submission. Anthologies must contain sufficient new work to meet the criteria for a book in its own right. 
  6. Books published with the assistance of grants or subsidies are eligible. 
  7. Books written in English and books written in Māori are eligible. 
  8. A book entered for the Awards must be a single, stand-alone entry. Series or boxed sets are not considered as single, stand-alone book entries, and are therefore not eligible, unless submitted as individual titles. 
  9. Books published primarily for an educational market (e.g. textbooks, resource kits, literacy texts, reading schemes etc.) are not eligible. 
  10. Books must be available for sale through recognised booktrade outlets. 
  11. The Storyline Notable Book judging panel reserves the right to invite submissions. 
  12. For print books two copies of the submitted title are required. For e-books six copies are required.
  13. The entry fee is $30 per title (including GST).
  14. No correspondence regarding the Awards will be entered into.
  15. E-book entries will be accepted for e-book-only publications [no print edition exists]. Where both e-book and print book are available the print book should be submitted.
  16. E-books will not be in a separate category but will be judged alongside print editions of the same category. 
  17. The e-book must have been originated as an e-book. An e-book created out of an earlier print book is not eligible.
  18. Books by deceased authors or illustrators are not eligible for entry unless the death occurred after the book has been submitted.
  19. The closing date for entries is 30 November 2015.
While entries close 30 November we encourage you to submit titles already published since 1 January and other titles as they are published. If submitting in November please do so as early as possible to avoid late arrival due to postal or courier delays.

If in doubt regarding the eligibility of an author or illustrator, please seek clarification by emailing us

►Back to top.

Storylines Notable Books Lists:
►Back to top.

Storylines thanks for their ongoing support of the Storylines website.

About our company
Enter a succinct description of your company here
Contact Us
Enter your company contact details here