Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Notable Book Awards judges announced

Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa is pleased to announce the judges chosen to select the Storylines Notable Books for 2023 (for books published from 16 November 2022 to 15 November 2023).

The panels of six for each of five categories (non-fiction, junior and YA fiction, picture books and books written in te reo Māori) are made up of a diverse range of experts from around the country. They include authors, illustrators, teachers, academics, librarians and booksellers. Judging takes place during the year as the books are submitted. (For more information on submissions, eligibility and deadlines click here).

Storylines is grateful to the following who are members of the 2023 panels (no particular order):

Lisa Allcott, Ruki Tobin, Carolyn Manning, Kay Morfett, Zac McCallum, Gerri Judkins, Celeste Harrington, Paul Wright, Vidette Martin, Emma Smoldon, Steph Matuku, Libby Limbrick, Kirsty Bennett, Jeanette Brooker, Kaaren Hirst, Tessa Duder, Nicola Daly, Lesley Marshall, Crissi Blair, Tracey Greenwood, Helen Villers, Rosemary Tisdall, Penny Walch, Jade Benson, Chelsea Heap and Erena Williamson.

Christine Young, chair of Storylines Trust, says she is excited by the calibre of judges Storylines has been able to attract this year. “These awards are an important indicator of the best books created by New Zealand writers and illustrators in any given year, and over time are a valuable reference to quality books produced by New Zealand’s writers and illustrators, and the editors and publishers who work with them behind the scenes. This year’s judging panels represent a comprehensive mix of experience, expertise and perspectives which will ensure that the awards remain a valuable guide for whanau, teachers and librarians to books that have high literary and artistic quality and, most importantly, will be enjoyed by the tamariki and rangatahi they are created for. I thank them all in advance for the huge amount of time I know is involved in judging, and look forward to seeing the results of their deliberations in November.”

Entries are now open for the Storylines Notable Book Awards and close 31 August 2023.

Storylines Notable Book Award

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates