Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

James Norcliffe announced as the winner of 2023 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal

We are delighted to share the news that the 2023 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award winner is James Norcliffe. James Norcliffe is an acclaimed poet and writer for children and young adults, as well as a prolific editor and poetry champion. The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal is New Zealand’s most prestigious honour for children’s and young adult authors, illustrators and publishers, and we are thrilled to recognise James’ longstanding contribution.

He will be presented with the medal, and in turn will present the 2023 Storylines Margaret Mahy lecture ahead of the other 2023 awards on Sunday 2 April at The University of Auckland’s Epsom Campus.

Members of the Friends of Storylines Ngā Pou o te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa, whānau of winners, students, and the wider children’s and YA literature community are invited to attend. If you’re not yet a member, please consider joining.

To attend James’ lecture and the awards presentation, fill out our registration form. Attendance is free for Storylines Members, $15 for Non-Members, and $10 for Students.

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

About Storylines

We are a national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates

E-News and Updates