Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand | Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa

Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award Presentation


Storylines holds an annual event to present the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award for services to children’s literature.This is generally held in October or November of each year.

From 2021 the presentation of the Storylines Notable Book Awards will be timed to coincide with honouring the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award winner.

Members of the Friends of Storylines Ngā Pou o te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa and of the wider children’s and YA literature community are invited to attend, with invitations being sent directly to members, and through the Storylines newsletter.

2021 Award presentation

The presentation of the 2021 Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award to Sarah Forster, and the presentation of the 2021 Storylines Notable Book Awards, took place in Wellington on 26 February 2022.

Sarah presented a thought-provoking lecture titled “A changing landscape of ‘good’ books”, that surveyed changing societal norms, attitudes to books and the availability of New Zealand titles for young readers through the context of her own extensive career in books, publishing and reading.

Read the full lecture.

Watch the video of Sarah’s lecture.

Support Us

Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.

Sign Up

for Storylines e-news and updates