

# Minutes of the 23rd Annual General Meeting

Friends of Storylines Ngā Pou o te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa Incorporated

## 2 April 2023 Music Auditorium

Faculty of Education and Social Work, University of Auckland, Epsom Campus Auckland

### Meeting commenced: 12.35pm

**Present:** 78 Members of Friends of Storylines. Also in attendance: Joy Cowley, Storylines Patron; Anne de Lautour, EO; Vicki Cunningham, Operations Manager; Kaaren Hirst, Storylines Management Committee Chairperson

**Apologies:** Christine Young Storylines Trust Chairperson, Sandra Noakes, Jenny Nagle, Margaret Samuels, David Hill, Wendy Pye, Lynette Roycroft, Christine Dale, Lynette Evans

**Meeting Opened:** Kaaren Hirst, Management Committee Chairperson, opened the meeting and welcomed out Patron, Joy Cowley.

#### Minutes of the Previous Meeting:

Kaaren Hirst, Storylines Management Committee Chairperson moved that the minutes of the 2023 AGM be accepted as a true and correct record of the meeting. Seconded the motion. All in favour. Carried.

#### Matters arising: None

#### **General Business**

- Storylines Trust Treasurer, Lynette Roycroft supplied the verified annual statement of accounts. The fall in membership numbers is noted but the financial situation is not dissimilar to previous years.
- Storylines is audited through the Trust and the audited financial report will be available to members on the website.

Kaaren Hirst moved the Chairperson's Report be accepted and Libby Limbrick seconded the motion. All in favour. Carried.

**Notices of motion:** A Special General Meeting is to be held on the 24 April, 2023 at 6pm (by Zoom). The meeting is focussed on a draft proposal to alter the structure and costs of subscriptions. Adjustments may need to be made to differentiate between the costs to individual, family, student, school and international memberships. A quorum of at least fifteen attendees is required. A link for the meeting will be sent to all current members.

#### Election of the Management Committee for 2023/ 2024:

Nominees: Helen Beckingsale, Tessa Duder, Kaaren Hirst, Libby Limbrick, Pearl de Silva, Bridget Mahy, Helen Villers, Leonie Agnew, Vanessa Hatley-Owen, Anne Kayes, Susan Bridges, Zac McCallum.

There being no further nomination. Anne de Lautour moved the motion to accept all nominations and Crissi Blair seconded the motion. All in favour. Carried.

#### **Chairpersons Report**

Kaaren Hirst, Storylines Management Committee Chairperson presented the Friends of Storylines report for the Annual General Meeting of Friends of Storylines, Ngā Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki.

Several key points were noted:

- It has been a year of growth. Anne de Lautour, Executive Officer has consolidated and extended the opportunities of the organisation, and Vicki Cunningham has had a significant impact in her role as Operations Manager. Kaaren Hirst, Storylines Management Committee Chairperson thanked both Anne and Vicki for their energy and commitment.
- The impact of the website, newsletter and social media in general has enhanced communication and awareness.
- Membership has improved (288 members in 2023, an increase of 50) likely due to the Story Tours, events, regional engagement, and the manuscript awards.
- Tina Collins was thanked for her lengthy role and commitment in the administration of the manuscript awards. The manuscript awards now have an important place in supporting New Zealand children's and young adult literature.
- The Story Tours and the three-year national cycle continue to be a visible and important part of the Storylines year. The Storylines driver and representatives were thanked.
- A flood relief initiative for libraries in affected areas is being discussed with National Library and SLANZA.
- Zac McCallum and Sue Bridges were welcomed to the Management Committee. Weng Wai Chan and Carolyn Lagahetau were also thanked for their contributions.
- Anne de Lautour thanked members for their support of the Management Committee and Kaaren Hirst for her vision and leadership.

The EO report was moved by Kaaren Hirst and seconded by Nicola Daly. All in favour. Carried.

#### **General Business:**

Crissi Blair raised an issue about the lack of a non-fiction manuscript award. This will be responded to in due course.

Kaaren Hirst, Storylines Management Committee Chairperson called for any other items of general business. None were forthcoming.

# The meeting of Friends of Storylines Ngā Pou o te Whare Waituhi Tamariki o Aotearoa was declared closed at 1.05pm.