login login

Elizabeth Knox

Elizabeth_Knox_1.jpgElizabeth Knox is an award-winning novelist. She lives in Wellington with her husband and teenage son and is the author of eleven novels. Her best-known adult book, The Vintner’s Luck (1998), won her international attention and both the Deutz Medal for Fiction in 1999 and the Tasmania Pacific Region Prize. A film based on the novel and directed by Niki Caro appeared in 2009. In 2000 Knox was made a Laureate of the Arts Foundation of New Zealand, and in 2002 she was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit.
She has written two young adult novels – Dreamhunter (2005) and its sequel Dreamquake (2007). Dreamhunter was a fiction finalist in the 2006 Montana New Zealand Book Awards; won the Esther Glen Award; was selected for the 2006 White Ravens list of outstanding books; and made the American Library Association (ALA) recommended list of Best Books for Young Adults 2007. Dreamquake (2007) was a 2008 Michael L. Printz Honour Book (United States).

Select bibliography:
  • Dreamhunter (Fourth Estate 2005).
  • Dreamquake (Fourth Estate 2007).
  • Writer in Residence at Victoria University, Wellington 1997.
  • Katherine Mansfield Fellow 1999.
  • Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit 2002.
  • Esther Glen Award 2006 Medallist for Dreamhunter.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...