login login

Caroline Macdonald

Caroline Macdonald (1948–1997) was born and educated in Stratford, Taranaki. She was the youngest of four children and was a great reader of fiction, especially C.S. Lewis.  Her weekends and holidays were spent at the family bach in Oakura, and she made this the setting for her first novel Elephant Rock (1983), which won the Esther Glen Award.
Her fifth book, The Lake at the End of the World, won two major awards in Australia in 1989 and was also runner-up for the Guardian Children's Fiction Award in 1990.
Caroline lived in South Australia where she worked as an editor of teaching materials at Deakin University.

Selected bibliography:
  • Elephant Rock (Hodder & Stoughton 1983).
  • Visitors illustrated by Garry Meeson (Hodder & Stoughton 1984).
  • Yellow Boarding House (Oxford University Press 1985).
  • The Lake at the End of the World (Hodder & Stoughton 1988).
  • Joseph's Boat illustrated by Chris Gaskin (Ashton Scholastic 1989).
  • Speaking to Miranda (Hodder & Stoughton 1990).
  • Hostilities (Omnibus Books 1991).
  • The Eye Witness (Hodder & Stoughton 1991).
  • Secret Lives (Omnibus Books 1993).
  • Spider Mansion (Viking 1994).
  • Through the Witch’s Window illustrated by Mark Wilson (Puffin 1997).
  • Choysa Bursary 1983.
  • Esther Glen Award 1984 for Elephant Rock.
  • New Zealand Government Publishing Awards New Zealand Children's Book of the Year Award 1985 for Visitors.
  • Esther Glen Award 1989 Shortlist for The Lake at the End of the World.
  • Alan Marshall Prize for Children's Literature 1989 for The Lake at the End of the World.
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers 1989 Honour Book for The Lake at the End of the World.
  • AIM Children’s Book Awards 1990 Fiction Third Prize for The Lake at the End of the World.
  • AIM Children’s Book Awards 1991 Fiction Third Prize for Speaking to Miranda.
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers 1991 Shortlist for Speaking to Miranda.


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.