login login

Barbara Larson

Barbara_Larson.jpgDunedin publisher Barbara Larson is the 2010 winner of New Zealand’s top award in children’s literature, the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal. The award recognises Barbara’s specific and outstanding contribution to the important genre of young adult fiction.
Established in 1994, Barbara’s Longacre Press quickly became recognised as a leading independent publisher, producing at least six works for young readers a year as well as award-winning high-quality non-fiction. Longacre Press attracted some of the best established authors in the country – among them William Taylor, Jack Lasenby, Joanna Orwin and Kate De Goldi and put huge efforts into nurturing a generation of new writers. In late 2009 the company was purchased by Random House New Zealand and Barbara now acts as a roving commissioner of new fiction for Random.
‘Barbara’s continuing personal commitment to publishing high-quality novels for teenagers for more than a decade has been remarkable,’ notes Storylines Trust chair, Dr Libby Limbrick.
Barbara Larson is the second publisher to win the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal since its inception in 1992, joining Ann Mallinson, Wellington-based publisher of Lynley Dodd’s Hairy Maclary books.



Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.