login login

Susan Brocker

Susan Brocker has written over 60 books for older children, both fiction and non-fiction, which have been published worldwide. She has a history degree and a great love of social history that is reflected in her books. She also has a close affinity and love of animals which shines through in her writing.
In 2007, HarperCollins published her first New Zealand novel for older children, Restless Spirit, an adventure story about a desperate race to save a wild Kaimanawa stallion. This was followed In 2009 by Saving Sam, inspired by her faithful old German shepherd, Layla, and in 2010 by Brave Bess and the ANZAC Horses, the true story of a remarkable New Zealand war horse that served in the Middle East with the Mounted Rifles Brigade during World War One. 

Later books have included Dreams of Warriors, a story is about a teenage girl battling to save the family farm from ruin while her father is away fighting during World War Two; The Wolf in the Wardrobe, a quirky adventure story about a 13-year-old-boy who tries to rescue a wolf from the clutches of a crazy clown and keep her as his pet; and The Drover's Quest, set in the 1860s West Coast gold mining era and telling the story of a headstrong girl who disguises herself as a boy so she can join a cattle drive across the Southern Alps to find her missing gold-digger father. 
Susan’s latest book, 1914: Riding into War is the first in the new Kiwis at War series published by Scholastic NZ. Riding into War is the story of young Billy Bowman whose wartime experience with the mounted riflemen in World War One is not the big adventure he anticipated.
Susan lives with her husband and many pets, including horses, in a lovely old villa on a small farm near Tauranga.

Selected bibliography:
  • Famous Animals (Shortland Publications 1995).
  • Journey to the New World (Shortland Publications 1999).
  • Across the Oregon Trail (Shortland Publications 2001).
  • War Heroes (Shortland Publications 2001).
  • Cat Culture (Shortland Publications 2001).
  • Restless Spirit (HarperCollins 2007).
  • Saving Sam (HarperCollins 2009).
  • Brave Bess and the ANZAC Horses (HarperCollins 2010).
  • Dreams of Warriors (HarperCollins 2010).
  • The Wolf in the Wardrobe (HarperCollins 2011).
  • The Drover's Quest (HarperCollins 2012).
  • 1914: Riding into War (Scholalstic NZ 2014)
  • Storylines Notable Book Awards 2010 Young Adult Fiction List for Saving Sam.
  • Storylines Notable Book Awards 2011 Non-fiction List for Brave Bess and the ANZAC Horses.
  • Storylines Notable Book Awards 2011 Young Adult Fiction List for Dreams of Warriors.
  • LIANZA Esther Glen Award 2011 Finalist for Dreams of Warriors.
  • LIANZA Esther Glen Award 2012 Finalist for The Wolf in the Wardrobe.
  • LIANZA Esther Glen Award 20123 finalist for The Drover's Quest.
Other resources:

Storylines thanks zeald.com for their ongoing support of the Storylines website.

Page checked and updated February 2013.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:
spam control image


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...