login login

Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day

Postponement –
2020 Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day

The 2020 Storylines Margaret Mahy Day National Awards Day was scheduled to take place on
Sunday 5 April 2020. Unfortunately, due to the current risks around community transmission of Covid-19, we have made the decision to indefintely postpone the event.

With the general advice around social distancing, and the risks of community transmission of Covid-19 developing and all events being stopped, we feel it is wise to postpone now and let everyone know in plenty of time.

We will still announce winners of our awards on 5 April and details of winners other than Storylines Notable Books will remain confidential until then, when we will send out a media release and put information on our website.

We are planning to hold a celebration event when it is possible at some stage later in the year, at which we would like to congratulate all our winners, hear Maria Gill’s Storylines Margaret Mahy lecture and present her with her Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal, and collectively celebrate the achievements of our award winners and the authors, illustrators and publishers of the 2020 Storylines Notable Books

If you are a financial member of Storylines Children’s Literature Foundation, please note that the AGM will proceed, but as an online meeting. We will send specific details of this to members.

We regret that we have had to make this decision but believe it is in all our best interests. Until we can meet at a rescheduled national awards event, please stay safe and healthy – and enjoy any extra time you may have at home reading all the great New Zealand children’s books that you have so far not found time to do.

Click here to register for AGM (Storylines Members)

Storylines Foundation Annual General Meeting 2020

The AGM will be held as scheduled at 12.15pm on Sunday 5 April as an online meeting. Members will need to register to attend, and will receive details of online access ahead of the meeting.We will email details of registration directly to all financial Storylines members.
Members, please view the applicable documents for the 2020 Storylines Foundation AGM prior to your attendance.

Click here to register for AGM (Storylines Members)
2019 Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day

More than 150 people attended the 2019 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Awards Day in Auckland on 31 March at the University of Auckland Music Auditorium, Epsom campus, Epsom Avenue, Auckland. It was an afternoon of celebrations and sharing the love of books and children’s literature as award winners were honoured. Highlight of the afternoon was the presentation by 2019 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner, Mandy Hager, of the 2019 Margaret Mahy lecture which she entitled ‘Channelling our greater good’.
Read more about Mandy and the presentation of the Margaret Mahy Medal. 
Read the text of Mandy's lecture.
View Mandy's lecture presentation.

Bridget Mahy speaking about A lion in the meadow relaunch IMG 3709-546-228 Second raffle prize winner IMG 3904-130-85 Bookseller Unity Books Little Unity IMG 3792-975
Bridget Mahy talks about 50 years of A Lion in the Meadow
Sandra Morris receives a raffle prize from Libby Limbrick Bookseller Little Unity was  a popular shopping point during afternoon tea

Other awards presented were the 2019 Storylines Joy Cowley Award, the Storylines Gavin Bishop Award, and the Storylines Notable Book Awards. Two award-winning books from last year, Ursa by Tina Collins and Bullseye Bella by James T. Guthrie were launched during the afternoon.

Margaret Mahy Day is also the day Storylines presents its annual report and Storylines Foundation Financial Report and elects a new management committee. It is also an opportunity to recognise members who have dedicated time to Storylines over many years. This especially applies to Dr Libby Limbrick who was chair of Storylines Trust for 13 years until stepping down at the end of 2018. Christine Young, who took over as chair, thanked Libby for her years of work and presented her with flowers and a gift in token acknowledgment of the time she has dedicated to Storylines.

Libby is far from lost to Storylines; she remains on the Trust as Immediate past Chair, and remains on the Storylines management committee.

Christine Dale, chairperson of the Storylines management committee, recently announced that work commitments mean she can no longer give the role the time it deserves. Christine Young, chair of Storylines Trust, presented Christine with a floral thank you for the extraordinary work and commitment she has made to Storylines as MC Chair over the past two and a half years.

Read more  about the election of Storylines new management committee .

Read the Storylines annual report.

Storylines Foundation 2019 financial report

Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day - background

The  Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day is Storylines’ annual celebration of New Zealand’s authors, their books and achievements. It is held in Auckland each year on the weekend closest to International Children’s Book Day, 2 April - Hans Christian Andersen's birthday.

In 2018, Prime Minister and Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Jacinda Ardern presented the 2018 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal to Janice Marriott at the event.

The afternoon includes the Storylines Margaret Mahy Lecture presentation, a full programme of awards for original manuscripts, two book launches and the announcement of  new Storylines initiatives. Enjoy the selection of photos from 2018 and 2019:

IMG 6080 Jacinda Adern presents the Margaret Mahy Medal to Janice Marriott-372-973-790 IMG 6140-856-640 IMG 6024 Harriet Allan-431-998
Large book of A Lion in the meadow at 2019 Storylines awards - Helen Villers and Bridget Mahy IMG 3703-884-668 Margaret Mahy medal winner Mandy Hager with Bridget Mahy IMG 3702 -708 IMG 6111 Elsie Mahy and Libby Limbrick present books to Jacinda Adern-989
IMG 6150-372-303-837 The Christmas Caravan - model IMG 3740-765 Bookseller Unity Books Little Unity IMG 3792-975-538


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:
spam control image


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.