login login

Storylines Tessa Duder Award winners


2020 Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner

Cristina Sanders of Havelock North was the winner of the 2020 Storylines Tessa Duder Award for a manuscript for a young adult novel with her first YA manuscript, Displaced. The award is sponsored by Walker Books Australia. Linsay Knight, Head of Australian and New Zealand Publishing for Walker Books, says, “As proud sponsor of the Tessa Duder Award, we congratulate Cristina on her win. Displaced is a riveting read and a most worthy recipient of such an import accolade. This story is one that readers everywhere will treasure and hold close to their hearts.”

Cristina grew up in the family’s Gateway Bookshop in Wellington, where all books were tested on children. She had an early career in the book trade: bookshops, libraries, publishers and marketing, and then a career in business. Throughout her career, she read and dreamed about becoming an author. It took a post-grad diploma in Creative Writing to realise that storytelling is not magic but a craft that can be learned, and this inspired her to ditch the day job. She now “joyfully writes more-or-less full time, but occasionally runs away to sea on tall ships. Call it research,” she says.

Displaced is inspired by her family’s immigration from Norway in the 1870s.

Also on the shortlist were:

Lose-Lose by Amy Martin from Ohaupo

Fatty & Skinny by Karen Nimmo from Wellington

The Forever Forest by Sonya Wilson from Auckland

We were unable to present the award in person in 2020. Watch the digital presentation to Cristina instead.

Cristina Sanders-693
Storylines Tessa Duder Award -198

2018 Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner

Tina Shaw from Reporoa was announced as the 2018 Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner for an original manuscript for a young adult novel, for her work “Ursa”.
Three other writers were shortlisted in 2018:
  • Graci Goldhart from Hobsonville, Auckland for When never comes
  • Heather McQuillan from Christchurch for Even if your voice shakes
  • Joanne Paulsen from Christchurch for Fossil Farm.

Sandra Noakes of Harper Collins represented Walker books at  the Storylines National Margaret Mahy Awards Day on 31 March 2019 to launch Ursa, a powerful alternate history coming-of-age YA novel. Sandra introduced winning author Tina Shaw, and presented her with her award and flowers before the formal launch of the book by Tessa Duder.



Ursa cover image 9781760651244-42



Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.