login login

Storylines Tessa Duder Award


The Storylines Tessa Duder Award was established in 2010 in association with HarperCollins Publishers. It is now sponsored by Walker Books Australia. The award recognises Tessa Duder's outstanding contribution to children's literature, both in her publishing output and her tireless work to promote children's books and publishing.

The award is open to all New Zealand writers and is made biennially, when merited, to the New Zealand author of an unpublished work of fiction for young adults aged 13 and above. The award carries assurance of publication by Walker Books and an advance on royalties of $1500.
Tessa Duder 2018 pic ChannelMagazine-244-848
The award is open to any New Zealand writer, published or unpublished, who meets the eligibility criteria on the Entry Form. (If in doubt, please seek a ruling from the Storylines Awards Administrator.)

It is judged by a panel of three appointed by Storylines, alongside Tessa Duder, and a representative of Walker Books.

Manuscripts of up to 75,000 words, with accompanying entry form and fee payment, must be postmarked no later than 31 October in each year when entries are called for, and sent to the address given on the entry form.
The name of the author must not appear on any page, and a brief synopsis (i.e. a straightforward plot summary, not a blurb) must be included.

The award winner is announced at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day the following April, and the published book launched the following year.

The next award will be made in April 2022, with the deadline for entries being 31 October 2021.
Storylines Tessa Duder Award -198

Download the entry form and guidelines:

Storylines Tessa Duder Award entry form

You can make an electronic payment for your entry here.
NB: Members must be logged into the website to access the Members discounted entry fee.
Recipients of the Storylines Tessa Duder Award:
  • 2011: Hugh Brown; manuscript published as Reach
  • 2012: Rachel Stedman; manuscript published as A Necklace of Souls
  • 2013: No award
  • 2015: No award
  • 2016: Gareth Ward, manuscript titled The Sin Chronicles: New Blood, published as The Traitor and the Thief
  • 2018: Tina Shaw, manuscript published as Ursa
  • 2020: Cristina Sanders, manuscript titled Displaced
Read more about recent winners here.


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.