login login

Storylines Notable Books - recent winners

Storylines 2020 Notable Book lists announced

The 2020 Storylines Notable Book Awardwinners (for books published in 2019) were finally presented with their certificates in November 2020, after a year disrupted by Covid-19. See below for images of the winners who received their certificates.
A full list of the award-winning titles is available in PDF format here for printing, or a pdf for poster display here, or read the full list, with cover illustrations, here.
Storylines Notable Book Award-640-529
2020-11-29 15Christine Young, Storylines chair, with winners of 2020 Storylines Notable Picture Book Awards: Penny Scown from Scholastic NZ, Linda Jane Keegan, Raymond McGrath, Elaine Bishell, Harriet Allen from Penguin RandomHouse, Diana Menefy.
2020-11-29 15Christine Young, Storylines chair, with Tessa Duder and the award for non-fiction, awarded to her, illustrator David Elliot and publisher HarperCollins.
2020-11-29 15

Winners of 2020 Storylines Notable Junior Fiction Books: Des Hunt, Weng Wai Chan, Penny Scown from Scholastic NZ, James Guthrie and Anne Kayes.
2020-11-29 15
Winners of 2020 Storylines Young Adult Notabel Book awards: Chris Mousdale, Harriet Allen from Penguin Random House, Falstaff Dowling-Mitchell, and Eileen Merriman.
Storylines 2019 Notable Books
Christine Young, chair of the Storylines Trust, presented the 2019 Notable Book Award winning writers, illustrators and publishers with their certificates at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and National Awards Day in late March 2019.
2019 Storylines Junior Fiction Notable Book winners  IMG 3881-210 2019 Storylines Non-fiction Notable Award winners Gavin Bishop Stuart Phillipa and Adrian kinnardIMG 3865-881-571
2019 Storylines YA Notable Book Award winners IMG 3889-562-748 2019 Storylines Notable Book Award writers, illustrators and publishers receive their certificates
2019 Storylines Notable Book Award winners Lael Chisholm Heather Haylock Sally Sutton, Stacy Gregg, Robyn Belton   Josh  IMG 3858-343-902 2019 Storylines Te Reo Notable Book Award winner  Keri Opai with publisher Lynette Evans IMG 3892-383
  • 2018 Notable Books
  • Winners of  2018 Storylines Notable Book Awards were presented with their certificates at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Awards Day on 8 April. Notable Book awards were presented in four genres: Junior Fiction, Young Adult, Non-fiction and Picture Book. The list is compiled from more than 100 entries by four panels of judges with specialist knowledge of children’s books – teachers, librarians, authors, illustrators, booksellers and academics.
  • Read the full list of 2018 Notable Books here.
  • IMG 6243-150
  • IMG 6247-481-92
  • 2018 Notable picture book winners
  • 2018 Notable non-fiction winners
  • IMG 6262-972-606
  • IMG 6259 Eileen Merriman-421-407-566
  • 2018 Notable junior fiction books
  • 2018 Notable YA fiction book winner Eileen Merriman
Notables 2018 Brochure-240



Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.