login login

Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal winner lectures

Each year, the winner of the Margaret Mahy Medal presents  a lecture on an aspect of children's literature. We will progressively collate this extraordinary resource in text and video format (where available) on this page for your reference.
2021 Julia Marshall. Lecture text 2020: Maria Gill. Lecture text 2020: Maria Gill video 2019: Mandy Hager. Lecture text
Julia Marshall Gecko press Johnny hendrikus wellingtonNZ 2019-2-204-120-177 Maria Gill-54 Maria Gill-54 Mandy Hager 2017-397-78-386-518
2018: Janice Marriott video 2018: Janice Marriott, The Word Witch's Gift 2017: Des Hunt, Stories Out Loud 2016 Barbara Else video
Janice Marriott 2018 5 MB-303-873 Janice Marriott 2018 5 MB-303-873 Des Hunt 2016-460-917 Barbara Else 2 2010-97-775
2016 Barbara Else 2015: Jill Eggleton: Everyone has a Story 2014: David Elliot, When the Bowsprit gets Mixed with the Rudder 2013: Bill Nagelkerke, The Sorceror's Apprentice
Barbara Else 2 2010-97-775 Jill Eggleton 2-397-248-557 David Elliot pic 2017-561-490 Bill Nagelkerke-423
2012:; Fleur Beale, Where do Ideas Come From? 2011: Kate De Goldi, Legends of the Swamp 2010: Barbara Larson, Grazing the Longacre 2009: Andrew Crowe, Creative Non-Fiction
Fleur Beale-407 Kate de Goldi-20 Barbara Larson-775 Andrew Crowe 2018-860-442
2008: Wayne Mills, Reading Aloud is Allowed 2007: Ken Catran, Teen Literature: Demons Old and New 2006: Robyn Belton, Gathering Images: The Stories Behind the Pictures 2005: David Hill, By the Book
Wayne Mills Quiz Master-225 Ken Catran 1-585 Robyn Belton-169 David Hill-231
2004: Pamela Allen, My Picture Books 2003: Jack Lasenby, Changes and Origins 2002: Maurice Gee, Creeks and Kitchens 2001: Sherryl Jordan, Journeys of the Heart
pamela allen-92 childrens writer jack lasenby at home in wellington-976 Maurice Gee-390 Sherryl Jordan and The Wednesday Wizard 1-33
2000: Gavin Bishop, Kia Ora Professor Cole 1999: Lynley Dodd, Writing the Pictures and Painting the Words 1998: William Taylor, A Strange Way for an Adult Male to be Making  Living! 1997 Ann Mallinson, From a Trickle to a River
Gavin Bishop-381 Lynley Dodd 1-298 William Taylor ChristchurchCityLibraries-506 Ann Mallinson 2011 ArtsFoundation-379
1996: Tessa Duder, Learning to Swim in the Deep 1995: Elsie Locke: For Children You Must Do it Better 1994: Betty Gilderdale, Some Cautionary Tales 1993: Joy Cowley, Influences
Tessa Duder-570 Elsie Locke Book Launch Oct 88 no 2-397 Libby Limbrick Betty Gilderdale and Rosemary Tisdall Dec16-79-353 Joy Cowley-546-132
1992: Dorothy Butler, Telling Tales 1991: Margaret Mahy, Surprising Moments    
Dorothy Butler-124 Margaret Mahy-841-821    


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.