login login

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award winners

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award 2020

The winner of the inaugural Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award is Janine Williams of Whangarei, for her manuscript Holding the Horse.

Janine will receive mentoring free of charge from Janice towards readying a manuscript for submission to a publisher.

Janine, who lives in Northland surrounded by hills and fruit trees, is looking forward immensely to working with Janice. As a child she entertained her siblings with illustrated storytelling. She was shortlisted for the Joy Cowley award in 2015. Currently she hones her skills at local writing workshops and is writing children’s picture books and junior fiction

The two other junior fiction writers who were shortlisted were:
  • Gay Buckingham from Dunedin for her manuscript Kakapo Keeper;
  • Aimee Elliott from Taupo, for The Bata Bullet Kid.
Janine Williams author pic large file (1)-620-151



Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:
spam control image


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.