login login

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award

About the Award

The Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award was initiated in 2019.

Janice has generously sponsored this special Storylines award, prompted by her concern to build the quality and number of junior fiction manuscripts that successfully achieve publication.

Janice runs a private assessment and mentoring service called Go Write Now, accepting budding writers who pay a fee for editing and mentoring advice towards readying a manuscript for submission to a publisher. The award offers her services free of charge to the successful applicant for the Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award.

Read about the winners of this award here.

Janice Marriott 2018 5 MB-676-638-657-332

Award Guidelines:

The award consists of the opportunity for mentoring experience for a previously unpublished New Zealand writer who wants to write for children.

  • The Award will be given annually to one successful applicant when merited.
  • It can be awarded to any writer only once.
  • Only New Zealand resident unpublished writers are eligible to submit (using Storylines' general definition and criteria for ‘unpublished’ - see details in the award entry form and guidelines).
  • A writer may not enter the Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award and the Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award in any one year.
  • Janice and a panel of two Storylines judges will read proposals and select the successful applicant.
  • The Award will be the starting point for six months' ongoing mentoring to the successful applicant, during which time Janice will be available to encourage and advise.
  • The mentorship will follow Janice Marriott’s usual mentoring processes.
  • A work timeline will be agreed by the two parties. Dialogue will be by email, with two Zoom sessions arranged by Storylines.
  • The award will be reviewed annually, and will be dependent on Janice’s availability to commit for the following year.
  • Storylines will inform the winner. This advice must be kept confidential by all parties until the announcement of the award.
  • Storylines will announce the winning writer at the Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day held each year, put out media releases and undertake other publicity to maximise the profile and stature of the award.
  • Unsuccessful writers may submit an entry the following year.

Conditions of Entry

  • The deadline for submissions is 31 October each year.
  • Submissions must be in the form of a one-page synopsis of the planned novel AND two sample chapters.
  • THREE copies of the submission are to be submitted in hard copy to the Storylines Awards Administrator, plus one PDF copy electronically. Submissions may be single-spaced and double sided.
  • Entries submitted solely online will not be accepted.
  • Submissions will only be accepted from unpublished writers who meet the New Zealand residency requirements as stipulated on the entry form.

Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award Entry Form & Checklist

You can make an electronic payment for your entry here.
NB: Members must be logged into the website to access the Members discounted entry fee.

List of Storylines Janice Marriott Mentoring Award winners

2020: Janine Williams
2021: Nissa Bearsley


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.