login login

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award


The Storylines Gavin Bishop Award was established in 2009. The award aims to encourage the publication of new and exciting high-quality picture books from new New Zealand illustrators. It also recognises the contribution Gavin Bishop has made to the writing and illustrating of children’s picture books and gives an emerging talent the opportunity to benefit from his expertise.

The award is open only to previously unpublished illustrators. It not open to any illustrator who has had a picture book, either fiction or non-fiction for either children, young adults or adults published either by self publishing or a publishing house in digital or print format (i.e. one sold through online or physical bookstores), or is in the process of publication.
Previous publication by the illustrator in school readers and similar educational material; magazine articles; anthologies is allowable. (If in doubt, illustrators should seek a ruling from Storylines.)  Eligibility criteria are stated on the Entry Form.

Gavin Bishop-872-76


Storylines administers the award, and Penguin Random House New Zealand is the sponsor. The winner receives a $1,500 monetary prize, mentoring and support from celebrated children’s author and illustrator, Gavin Bishop, and an offer of publication by Penguin Random House New Zealand.
The award is biennial, with the presentation of the award made at the Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day in April.  Each entrant is required to submit a storyboard, a page of rough drawings and two pieces of finished art to fit with text provided by Penguin Random House. See below for details. The text  for the 2023 award will be made available in early 2022.

Storylines Gavin Bishop Award Entry form and Guidelines

Entry Form

Entries for the next award close 30 November 2022.
You can make an electronic payment for your entry here.
NB: Members must be logged into the website to access the Members discounted entry fee.
Recipients of the Storylines Gavin Bishop Award:
Read more about previous winners here.
 Storylines Gavin Bishop Award-181-191 Logo-CMYK PRH-NewZealand-946-348




Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.