login login

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award winners


Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award Previous winners

Congratulations to 2020 winner

The winner of the 2020 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a much-loved book is The Big Block of Chocolate, written by Janet Slater and illustrated by Christine Dale.

We were unable to hold a "real"awards presentation in 2020. See the digital presentation of their award here.

2019 winner

The Christmas Caravan, written by Jennifer Beck and illustrated by Robyn Belton was named the 2019 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award winner, the 20th much-loved book to be honoured by this award in memory of author Gaelyn Gordon.
Jennifer and Robyn were both present to receive the award from Tessa Duder, and delighted that this heart-warming story had received this recognition. Robyn had brought to Auckland with her some of the original artwork for the book, which was on display.

Robyn Belton and Jennier Beck (each with flowers) with (l to r) Tessa Duder, Penny Scown (Scholastic NZ) Christine Young (Storylines Trust chair) and Lynette Evans (Scholastic NZ)
Presentation of Gaelyn Gordon Award IMG 3727-529
The model of the 1950s caravan which Robyn used as her muse when drawing the illustrations for The Christmas Caravan was complemented by a display of her original drawings for the book
The Christmas Caravan - model IMG 3740-36

2018 winner

Joy Cowley and Tracey Moroney's Nicketty-Nacketty Noo-Noo-Noo, first published by Scholastic in 1995, was announced as the winner of the 2018 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a Much-loved Book. Like other Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award winners,  Nicketty-Nacketty Noo-Noo-Noo has never won a major award, but testament to its enduring popularity and appeal is the fact that it remains in print 23 years after its first publication.

In announcing the winner, Tessa Duder noted that that the title reflected the special part of Joy's life with her grandmother as Nicketty-Nacketty Noo-Noo-Noo was one of her grandmother's sayings.

Nicketty Nacketty Noo Noo Noo-118

2017 winner

The 2017 Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a Much-loved Book, funded by David Ling Publishing, HarperCollins and Scholastic, was Pamela Allen, for Mr McGee, published by Penguin Random House NZ in 1987.

Mr McGee is the first of several picture books about Mr McGee (who lives under a tree). Pre-schoolers love the simple rhyming language, the fun of his misadventures and Pamela Allen’s distinctive illustrations. Read more about Pamela’ Allen here.

Mr McGee-563


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.