login login

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award


Gaelyn Gordon photo-797The Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award was established in 1999 to honour the memory  and contribution to children’s literature of the late Gaelyn Gordon.

Acclaimed as a gifted teacher of English and drama, Gaelyn published her first children’s book, Tales from Another Now, in 1989. She went on to produce numerous books for children of all ages, books that often combined myth, fantasy, science fiction, and contemporary issues. Her picture book Duckat (1991) is a favourite with New Zealand children. Gaelyn was a versatile writer and performer. She wrote several books for adults, and was a member of the literary performing group Metaphor. Her early death from cancer in 1997 was a great loss to New Zealand children’s literature.

The award is made annually for a work of fiction seen by Storylines as one which has stood the test of time and which is generally recognised as a successful, enduring children’s book.

Award entry and criteria

The Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award is for a work of fiction for children by a living author. It must have been in print for at least five years. Or, if the book has been reissued after a period of time out of print, then available for at least two years. The book must not have won a major New Zealand award but it may have been shortlisted, and it may have won an award overseas. A panel appointed by Storylines selects the award recipient. Formal submissions are not sought from the public, but the panel welcomes suggestions from publishers and authors.

Storylines thanks Gaelyn’s publishers HarperCollins, Scholastic and David Ling Publishing for their generous help in setting up this award after Gaelyn's death in 1997.
Recipients of the Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award:
Read more about recent Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award recipients.


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.