login login

Storylines Te Kāhurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award winners

2021 Winner Storylines Te Kahurangi Katerina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

Jane Cooper-230The winner of the 2021 Storylines Te Kahurangi Katerina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award for a manuscript written originally in te reo Māori is Ureia by Jane Cooper of Auckland.
Jane has taught in bilingual and immersion Māori primary classes for 20 years, sharing with students the wonderful stories in school publications - He Kohikohinga, Te Tautoko and He Purapura. Jane acknowledges the significance of this body of work written for children over many decades by inspiring Māori writers, such as Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira. She was motivated to write her short novel, Ureia, to contribute to the literature for Māori medium students. Having specialised in teaching the history of Tāmaki Makaurau, Jane has produced a fictionalised treatment of a 17c pū-rākau, set during the flourishing era of Te Wai o Hua confederation. Essentially an adventure story, the two adolescent female protagonists, their loyalties conflicted, set off on a perilous journey to challenge the course of action determined by their leaders.

The shortlisted entrants were He Wini Raro by Pohe Stephensof Hamilton; Tōku Whānau Rerehua by Rauhina Cooper of Ōhaupō and He Mōwhiti mā Koro by Adrienne Arona Huia of Christchurch.

At the end of the judging process, the judges said they "were unanimous in our support of these four manuscripts to be announced as the shortlist for 2021.

“E haere atu ana ngā mihi ki ngā kaituhi mō rātou i whakaputa ēnei whakaaro kia kitea e te kanohi tangata, hei kai mā te whatu, mā te hinengaro mā te ngākau hoki. Ka nui ngā mihi ki a koutou katoa.

“The quality of entry and the range of topics kept the judges engaged. These were beautiful stories that captured our imaginations, our hearts and minds. Recounting historic events, creating worlds and reminding us of the importance of our precious loved ones were themes that emerged. These stories were of a calibre that Huia would be proud to publish the works.

“Every manuscript had a special story to tell and was highly relevant to readers, two being historical stories and the other two dealing with modern social issues. All these writers resonated with the judges because of their Māori world view, relevance and, importantly, that they could all potentially be published for a wider public audience.
IMG 7954-350 IMG 7955-147 IMG 7957-971
Katarina Mataira, daughter of Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira, and Erana Brewerton welcome the short listed entrants for the award Katarina Mataira congratulates winner Jane Cooper. Jane Cooper expresses her delight and thanks for her awards.


2020 Storylines Te Kāhurangi Katerina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award winner

The winner of the inaugural Storylines Te Kāhurangi Katerina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award, sponsored by Huia Publishing was: Ngā Ngeru o te Tiriti o Pāia by Amiria Stirling from Aro Valley, Wellington.

We were unable to present the award in person in 2020. Watch the digital presentation to Amiria here.

The cash award for Amiria was sponsored by Massey University Te Pūtahi-a-Toi: School of Māori Knowledge. Amiria worked with Huia Publishing, with the aim of launching the book in 2021.

He kaituhi a Amiria Stirling nō Te Whānau a Apanui, nō Ngāti Porou, nō Kāi Tahu hoki. Ko te wā tuarua tēnei kua tohua āna tuhinga ki tētahi tohu matua i Aotearoa.

I whakaurua tāna tuhinga ki te tohu 'Storylines Te Kāhurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira' hei mihi ki a Te Kahurangi Heikōkō, tētahi o ōna tino kaituhi.

I hua mai a 'Ngā Ngeru o te Tiriti o Pāia' i a Amiria e noho ana i Ōtaki, ki tētahi tiriti kaumātua e kīkī ana ki ā rātou ngeru! He ngeru taikaha, he ngeru nanakia, he ngeru ātaahua katoa rātou. I tuhi rotarota ia mō ā rātou whanonga me ā rātou mahi whakahōhā i ngā kainoho i tōna tiriti.

Oti rā, ko te reo peha, ko te reo rotarota, ko te reo katakata e hora ana i te paki, hei tōmina i ngā tamariki, i ngā pakeke anō hoki ki te pānui, ki te aroha hoki i te reo Māori.

Amiria Stirling is a writer from Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Porou and Kāi Tahu. She entered her story in the Storylines Te Kāhurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award to acknowledge Dame Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira, one of her most favourite writers.

The Cats of Pāia Street was written while Amiria lived in Ōtaki, in a street of kaumātua that was filled with their cats! They were all bold, cheeky and beautiful cats. She wrote poems about their behaviours and their troublesome antics towards those who lived on the street.

Figurative, poetic and humorous language is spread throughout the story, to entice children and adults alike to read and love te reo Māori.

Other shortlisted entrants were:

Ko Matariki te Whaea by Charlotte Manga from Mt Eden, Auckland

Piri rāua ko Māta – 2007 by Kahurangi Douglas from Karori, Wellington

A third shortlisted entrant preferred not to be named.

Amiria Stirling-794Amiria Stirling
STKKTHM Award logo-797


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.