login login

Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

About the Award 

The Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award is for a manuscript written originally in te reo Maori.

It was established by Storylines in 2019 in association with Huia and  Massey University Te Pūtahi-a-Toi: School of Māori Knowledge, which provided the inaugural monetary award of $1500 for the winning author. It is also supported by the Māori Literature Trust.

The award recognises Te Kahurangi (Dame) Kāterina's outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature in te reo Māori, in her publishing output for children, young adults and adults, and her tireless work to promote the use of te reo Māori.

The award, which carries a $1500 monetary prize as well as assurance of publication by Huia, is open to any New Zealand writer, published or unpublished, who meets the eligibility criteria on the entry form. (If in doubt, please seek a ruling from the Storylines Awards Administrator.) It is made annually, when merited, to the New Zealand author of an unpublished work written originally in te reo Maori.

The manuscript may not be a translation of a previously published work.
The writer can submit work in any genre: picture book, junior fiction, young adult, or non-fiction.

The award winner is announced  in April each year at the Stroylines Margaret Mahy National Awards event, and the published book launched the following year.

The next award will be made in April 2022, with the deadline for entries being 31 October 2021.

Find information about the award winners here.
STKKTHM Award logo-797
Dame Katerina Mataira

Entry information

Manuscripts, with accompanying entry form and fee, must be sent/ postmarked no later than 31 October each year. An author can submit more than one manuscript, each must be accompanied by an entry form and applicable fee payment.

Download the guidelines  and entry form here:

Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award Guidelines

Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Entry Form

You can make an electronic payment for your entry here.
NB: Members must be logged into the website to access the Members discounted entry fee.

Storylines Te Kahurangi Kāterina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award winners

  • 2020: Amiria Stirling, for her manuscript titled Ngā Ngeru of te Tiriti o Pāia
  • 2021 Jane Cooper for her manuscript titled Ureia




Storylines thanks zeald.com for their ongoing support of the Storylines website.


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.