login login

Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award


The Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award honours the late Betty Gilderdale, a lifelong advocate and supporter of children’s literature, through her academic research, work as a reviewer and 30 years' committee service to Auckland’s Children’s Literature Association. Prior to 2000, the award was known as the Children’s Literature Association’s Award for Services to Children’s Literature. Read more about Betty's work for children's literature in a tribute given by Storylines Trustee Rosemary Tisdall at a memorial service for Betty after her death in July 2021.

The award is given annually for outstanding service to children’s literature and literacy and carries a monetary prize of $2000. The recipient delivers a 40-minute address, known as the Storylines Spring Lecture, as part of the award presentation, usually in November.

Nominations for the award close on 31 August each year.

Nominations can be for distinguished service either at a regional or national level. Nominations are sought from the public and selection from those nominated is made by a panel selected by Storylines.
To make a nomination for the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award, fill in this form and email it to us, or print it off and post to us.
IMG 0289 Betty Gilderdale-552

Recipients of the Storylines Betty Gilderdale Award:


Storylines Trust Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki and Friends of Storylines Te Pou o Te Whare Waituhi Tamariki together form New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round to promote New Zealand children’s and young adult literature through activities that include a major national Story Tour to schools, early childhood centres and communities, and awards for writers, illustrators and those who work in the area of New Zealand children’s literature



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*
In order to assist us in reducing spam, please type the characters you see:


Storylines welcomes your support for all its activities and events. Whether as a volunteer or sponsor for annual events or specific activities, your support (large or small) towards helping young New Zealanders love books is greatly appreciated.