login login

Storylines Tessa Duder Award


Tessa Duder new 1-74-373 The Storylines Tessa Duder Award is open to all New Zealand writers and is made biennially, when merited, to the New Zealand author of a work of fiction for young adults aged 13 and above. The award carries a monetary prize of $1500. The next award will be made in April 2020, with the deadline for entries being 31 October 2019.

2018 Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner

Tina Shaw from Reporoa was announced as the 2018 Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner for an original manuscript for a young adult novel, for her work “Ursa”.

Her work is described as a powerful coming of age story. In accepting the award, Tina said it is part speculative fiction, part steam-punk, with some low level violence; an allegorical depiction of Nazi Germany. She is already working with the award sponsors, Walker Books, with the aim of launching the book at next year's Storylines awards ceremony.

In announcing the award, Tess Duder noted that the impressive number of entries received - 17 - represented  extraordinary effort from all writers. She also noted that being able to announce a winner as well as three short-listed manuscripts demonstrated the extraordinary calibre of this year's entrants. (Twice in the seven years since the award was initiated, no entries have been deemed publishable, and no award made.)

Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner Tina Shaw with Tessa Duder-402
Storylines Tessa Duder Award winner Tina Shaw with Tessa Duder
Three other writers were shortlisted:
  • Graci Goldhart from Hobsonville, Auckland for When never comes
  • Heather McQuillan from Christchurch for Even if your voice shakes
  • Joanne Paulsen from Christchurch for Fossil Farm.
IMG 6229 Graci Goldhart Heather McQuillan Joanne Paulsen-600-75


The Storylines Tessa Duder Award was inaugurated in 2010 in association with HarperCollins Publishers.  It is now sponsored by Walker Books Australia. The award recognises Tessa Duder's outstanding contribution to children's literature, both in her publishing output and her tireless work to promote children's books and publishing.

The award is open to any New Zealand writer, published or unpublished, who meets the eligibility criteria on the Entry Form. (If in doubt, please seek a ruling from the Storylines Administrator.)

Manuscripts, with accompanying form and fee payment, must be postmarked no later than 31 October in the years when entries are called for.

The award winner is announced the following March and the published book launched the following year. Download the entry form and guidelines here:
Storylines Tessa Duder Award entry form and Guidelines 2020
Recipients of the Storylines Tessa Duder Award:
  • 2011: Hugh Brown; manuscript published as Reach
  • 2012: Rachel Stedman; manuscript published as A Necklace of Souls
  • 2013: No award
  • 2015: No award
  • 2016: Gareth Ward, manuscript entitled The Sin Chronicles: New Blood, published as The Traitor and the Thief in 2017
  • 2018: Tina Shaw, manuscript entitled Ursa
  Storylines thanks zeald.com for their ongoing support of the Storylines website.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...