login login

Margaret Mahy Day 2012

 Quick Links

Margaret Mahy Day and Annual General Meeting 2012

 Margaret Mahy Medal Award Lecture
Annual General Meeting

Saturday 31 March, 2012 9.30am - 12.45am

King's School, 258 Remuera Road, Remuera, Auckland 1050

Registration commences at 9.00am

Fleur Beale

Recipient of the Margaret Mahy Medal 2012
Fleur BealeWellington writer Fleur Beale has won the 2012 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal for her outstanding contribution to New Zealand writing for children and young adults.
The award, given annually by the Storylines Children's Literature Trust, is New Zealand's top award for achievement in children's literature.
"Fleur Beale's books have won her a large following among young readers," says Storylines Trust chair, Dr Libby Limbrick. "Since her first book Slide the Corner in 1993 she has published a significant body of more than thirty works of fiction.  Many have been shortlisted for awards, with her more recent books, such as the Esther Glenn winner Juno of Taris and 2011 New Zealand Post Senior Fiction winner Fierce September, taking top prizes."
A former secondary school teacher in Hamilton, Fleur Beale is also widely known as a popular creative writing teacher and mentor to young and new writers. She regular visits schools for the New Zealand Book Council. She has two adult daughters.
Her thirty books, many published in America and England, include the classic I am Not Esther, winner of the Gaelyn Gordon Award for a Much-Loved Book.
The Margaret Mahy Medal was instituted in 1991. Among its recipients have been writers Joy Cowley, William Taylor, Maurice Gee, David Hill and Kate De Goldi, publisher Ann Mallinson and illustrators Gavin Bishop and Lynley Dodd.
Margaret Mahy Day Programme

9.00am Registration
9.30am Welcome and Annual General Meeting
10.00am Presentation of Gaelyn Gordon Award 2012
Presentation of Joy Cowley Award 2012
Presentation of Tom Fitzgibbon Award 2012
Launch of Tom Fitzgibbon Award 2011 Winner, Iris's Ukulele by Kathy Taylor
Presentation of Tessa Duder Award 2012
Launch of Tessa Duder Award 2011 Winner, Reach by Hugh Brown
Presentation Notable Books List 2012
11.00am Morning Tea
11.30am Margaret Mahy Award Lecture: Fleur Beale
12.45pm Finish

Margaret Mahy Medal Award Lecture and Annual General Meeting Flyer is available to download with the programme for the day included.
Registration Details and Ticket Prices

Online registrations are now available

$20.00 Member includes morning tea.

NB: You will need to login using the link from the homepage to access the member price.

$30.00 Non-member includes morning tea

$10.00 School-age child/ *Student with ID

* Lecture Only

Prefer to mail? Registration forms can also be printed and sent to the address on the form

AGM Documents

AGM Minutes 2011 - Members Access Only

Management Committee Bios and Nomination Form - Members Access Only

Task Force Volunteers

Proxy Voting Form - Members Access Only

Apologies - Members Access Only

Having trouble viewing the documents? You must be logged in to be able to view.


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...