login login

Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award

Des Hunt 1-411Des Hunt has been announced as the recipient of the 2017 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal, New Zealand’s top award for children’s writers and illustrators. Des will be present the 2017 Margaret Mahy lecture and receive his award at the Storylines annual Margaret Mahy Day on 2 April.

Read the full press release announcing the 2017 award here or Des Hunt's profile and extensive bibliography here.

The video and text of his lecture will go online here immediuately after the presentation


The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award was first presented in 1991 to Margaret Mahy in recognition of her contribution to the world of literature for children and young adults. Surprising Moments, her inaugural lecture, set the standard for those given by subsequent award-winners.

These published lectures by the champions of the New Zealand children’s literature community have enriched New Zealand’s literary heritage with their insight into the experiences, ideas, issues and concerns involved in writing and/or illustrating for children, improving literacy, and ensuring access to quality literature.

The award carries a monetary prize of $2000 and is presented annually to a person for their lifetime achievement and significant contribution to the broad field of children’s literature and literacy. This includes writing, illustration, publishing and academic fields. The address is published on the Storylines website immediately after the award presentation.

Nominations are  open for the 2018 Margaret Mahy Medal.

Nominations close on 31 October 2017. To make a nomination, fill in this form and email it to Storylines, or print it off and post.

Recipients of the Storylines Margaret Mahy Award are:
  • 1991: Margaret Mahy: lecture text published as Surprising Moments.
  • 1992: Dorothy Butler: text published as Telling Tales.
  • 1993: Joy Cowley: text published as Influences.
  • 1994: Betty Gilderdale: text published as Some Cautionary Tales.
  • 1995: Elsie Locke: text published as For Children You Must Do it Better.
  • 1996: Tessa Duder: text published as Learning to Swim in the Deep.
  • 1997: Ann Mallinson: text published as From a Trickle to a River.
  • 1998: William Taylor: text published as A Strange Way for an Adult Male to be Making a Living!
  • 1999: Lynley Dodd: text published as Writing the Pictures and Painting the Words.
  • 2000: Gavin Bishop: text published as Kia Ora Professor Cole.
  • 2001: Sherryl Jordan: text published as Journeys of the Heart.
  • 2002: Maurice Gee: text published as Creeks and Kitchens.
  • 2003: Jack Lasenby: text published as Changes and Origins.
  • 2004: Pamela Allen: text published as My Picture Books.
  • 2005: David Hill: text published as By the Book.
  • 2006: Robyn Belton: text published as Gathering Images: The Stories Behind the Pictures
  • 2007: Ken Catran: text published as Teen Literature: Demons Old and New.
  • 2008: Wayne Mills: text published as Reading Aloud is Allowed.
  • 2009: Andrew Crowe: text published as Creative Non-Fiction.
  • 2010: Barbara Larson: text published as Grazing the Longacre.  
  • 2011: Kate De Goldi: text published as Legends of the Swamp.
  • 2012: Fleur Beale: text published as Where Do Ideas Come From?
  • 2013: Bill Nagelkerke: text published as The Sorcerer's Apprentice.
  • 2014: David Elliot: text published as When the Bowsprit Gets Mixed with the Rudder.
  • 2015: Jill Eggleton; text published as Everyone Has a Story
  • 2016: Barbara Else. See the video of her lecture here or read the text here. Read the news release about Barbara's Award here.
  • 2017: Des Hunt: lecture presented as Stories Out Loud


The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand's only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children's and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities ... 



for  Storylines e-news and updates
First Name*
Last Name*


Storylines welcomes support for all its activities and events. Whether as sponsors or as volunteers for Festival events or task groups, your contribution (large or small) towards helping children grow up to love books and stories will be hugely valued ...