Signup for our newsletter

What's the story? is Storylines' newsletter. It includes news and information about children's literature around New Zealand as well as internationally.
First Name*
Last Name*

Joy Cowley Award

Joy_Cowley_1.jpgEstablished in 2002, the Storylines Joy Cowley Award recognises the exceptional contribution Joy Cowley makes to both children’s literature and literacy in New Zealand and internationally. The aim of the award is to foster the publication of excellent picture books by writers permanently resident in New Zealand.

The award is open to both published and new writers. However the manuscript submitted must not have been published in either print or digital format for trade (i.e. one sold through physical or online bookstores) or for educational purposes (such as school readers) or be in the process of publication.  

Scholastic New Zealand is the sponsor and Storylines administers the award. The award is made annually, when merited, and includes editorial direction by Joy Cowley. There is a monetary prize of $1500 with an offer of publication by Scholastic New Zealand Limited.

Manuscripts, with accompanying form and fee payment, must be postmarked no later than 31 October each year. The manuscript, of no more than 1000 words, must be for a picture book, either a ‘traditional’ picture book for children zero to seven years, or a sophisticated picture book for children eight to 13 years.

The award winner is announced in March and the published book launched the following year.

Entry forms and guidelines:
Congratulations to the 2015 Joy Cowley Award Winner:
  • Witch’s Cat Wanted, Apply Within by Joy H Davidson
Recipients of the Storylines Joy Cowley Award are:Storylines_Joy_Cowley_Award_logo_1.jpg

2003: Julie Leibrich; manuscript published as The Biggest Number in the Universe.

2004: Jean Prior; manuscript published as The Waka.

2005: Kyle Mewburn; manuscript published as Kiss! Kiss! Yuck! Yuck!

2006: Moira Wairama; manuscript published as The Puppet Box.

2007: No award.

2008: Michelle Osment; manuscript published as Tiny Miss Dott and Her Dotty Umbrella.

2009: June Peka; manuscript published as Magpie Mischief.

2010: Lucy Davey; manuscript published as Out of Bed, Fred! August 2011.

2011: Sarah Johnson; manuscript published as Wooden Arms.

2012: Isaac Drought; manuscript published as Alphabet Squabble.

2013: Aimee McNaughton; manuscript published as I Can’t Imagine How That Happened

2014: Emma Vere-Jones; manuscript published as Stan the Van Man.

2015: Joy H Davidson: manuscript titled Witch's Cat Wanted, Apply Within.



About our company
Enter a succinct description of your company here
Contact Us
Enter your company contact details here